Vegetarians often get a raw deal over the festive season – no turkey, no pigs in blankets, and no trifle, as jelly contains animal gelatin.
But this Christmas you can indulge yourself, as we’ve found a tempting dessert that everyone can enjoy, veggie or not.
Just remember our mulled wine jelly should only be eaten by the over-18s. All together now – ‘tis the season to eat jelly, tra-la-la-la…
Mulled Wine Jelly
- 300ml red wine
- 1 cinnamon stick
- 2-3 cloves
- 1 piece orange peel
- 2-3 green cardamon pods
- 3 leaves or 3 tsp powdered vegetarian gelatine such as agar-agar
- 300 ml grape juice
- Handful of seedless red grapes or raspberries, optional
- Put the wine, juice and spices in a saucepan and heat very gently in a saucepan until the mixture almost boils.
- Soak the vegetarian gelatine leaves or powder in grape juice in a small ramekin for 3-4 minutes. Add to the hot mulled wine and stir until dissolved.
- If using the fruit, put it into the terrine or individual serving dishes and pour the wine mixture on top. When cold transfer to the fridge to set for several hours or overnight.
- The set jelly will have an opaque appearance because the wine and the spices prevent it being crystal clear. Serve with yogurt, ice cream or custard.
Looking for healthy festive recipes? See our recipe collection for more.
This article has been adapted from longer features appearing in Healthy, the Holland & Barrett magazine. Advice is for information only and should not replace medical care. Please check with your GP before trying any remedies.