what can't vegans eat

What can’t vegans eat? Five myths busted

If you’re on the fence about going vegan because you don’t want to miss out on your favourite indulgent foods, then you’ll be pleased to know that going vegan doesn’t mean giving up what you love!

And you’re in good company. According to the Vegan Society, demand for meat-free food in the UK increased by 987% in 2017.1

Read on to discover how some of the most common myths about vegan diets are just that.

Myth #1 – Vegans can’t eat creamy sauces

If you feel sorry for vegans unable to enjoy creamy, cheesy flavours and textures then you can stop right now!

Smart vegans know that the soft flavour and richness of cream can be magically re-created using cashew cream. Cashew cream isn’t some pricey, obscure ingredient. It’s literally just cashews and water, and you can make it yourself in a blender at home!

Why not start with our Raspberry Cream Macarons, which use cashew cream.

Even cheesy sauces aren’t off the menu for hungry vegans. A vegan cheese sauce can be made in minutes using oil, flour, soya milk simmered on the stove and stirred continuously until thickened, with salt, pepper and nutritional yeast flakes mixed in at the end. Nutritional yeast flakes are high in B vitamins, which is great news for vegans as they can become low in them if they don’t make sure to eat enough vegan sources.

Use this sauce as you would a cheese sauce in lasagne, macaroni and cheese, sauce for roasted vegetables or to pour over a baked potato.

Myth #2 – Vegans can’t eat dessert

Good news - going vegan doesn’t necessarily mean the end of ice-cream and a lifetime of ordering the sorbet.

The key to ice-cream that won’t make you feel like you’re missing out is coconut milk. Ice-cream made with coconut milk has the thick consistency, creamy taste and indulgent feel of dairy ice-cream, without any cows being involved. If you don’t fancy having a go at home, many major brands sell vegan ice cream in as many varieties as you can imagine, so stock up your freezer.

Along with the growing trend of veganism, (with number of vegans in the UK having risen by 400% since 2014)2, has been a rise in innovative vegan food products to meet our every culinary need, including the sweet tooth.

Beyond this, there are so many delectable desserts which are either naturally vegan or can be made vegan simply with the switch to a milk substitute. Examples include peanut butter cookies, cinnamon rolls, cheesecake, brownies, blondies, carrot cake and fudge.

Try our Chocolate, Coconut and Raspberry Tart, Sticky Toffee Pudding or our Chocolate Chia Pots.

Myth #3 – Vegans can’t eat pasta

This is obvious when you think about it, as most dried pasta does not contain any meat or dairy products. Some people are surprised to learn this one, though. We think this might be because some pasta (usually fresh pastas) do contain egg. Also, because pasta is often smothered with creamy, cheesy additions, it is so far from the stereotype of plain vegan cooking that people don’t make the connection.

But the truth is simple – pasta made from durum wheat is 100% vegan!

Myth #4 – Vegans can’t eat BBQ

Smokey bean burgers, sizzling seitan sausages and grilled vegetable skewers. Who says vegans can’t enjoy a BBQ? With a few caveats, there is no reason why you can’t get down and dirty with food cooked over the coals.

Of course, you’re going to want a separate grill (or separate section of the main grill) for your meatless foods and ensure different cooking utensils are used.

Apart from that, there is a huge (and growing) range of vegan products designed to mimic our classic food favourites that behave just like meat when cooked. With a dash of your favourite vegan hot sauce and a dollop of hummus nestled in a floury bread bun (most bread is vegan!) – the meat-lovers will be peering at your plate wanting a taste.

Myth #5 – Vegans can’t enjoy frothy coffee

Vegans love coffee just as much as non-vegans. And, luckily, they don’t have to miss out on those milky lattes and whipped cappuccinos.

The range of dairy-free milks is expanding all the time. Once a rarity, the alternative milk market is booming and almond milk, soya milk, oat milk, rice milk and cashew milk can all be found in most supermarkets and at health food shops.

Many major coffee chains have begun to offer dairy-free milk at no extra charge. You might be surprised at how many independent, smaller coffee and tea shops offer a range of dairy-free milk alternatives, too. If your local coffee place doesn’t offer a range of dairy-free milks – ask them! Smaller businesses are great at offering their customers what they want.

Shop Vegan Food

Last updated: 24 April 2020

DietsFood & DrinkVegan